About Us

Dancing on the Edge Festival is proud to be the oldest and longest running professional contemporary dance festival in Canada – and we did it here in British Columbia! Each year, DOTE is an eagerly anticipated highlight of the Lower Mainland’s Dance Season.

Artistic Mission:
The Dancing on the Edge Festival Society strives to create a place where contemporary dance artists are supported in the creation, development, and presentation of artistically exciting choreography and where audiences discover and enjoy dance in both traditional and non-traditional settings.

• To produce a contemporary dance festival that provides affordable public performances by local, national, and international dance artists for the benefit of the general public
• To increase public appreciation and understanding of contemporary dance through performances, workshops, classes, lectures, and the like
• To provide a means for professional dance artists and dance administrators to develop their skills through presentations, workshops, residencies, commissions, and dialogues.

Festival History:
In 2023, the Dancing on the Edge Festival will be celebrating its 35th season, making the annual festival the longest-running professional dance festival in Canada. The organization has a solid history to build on given its thirty-three-year history. The festival is recognized nationally as a valued presenter of contemporary dance and has proven itself as an important partner and supporter of British Columbia dance artists.

DOTE Festival Staff

Donna Spencer Festival Producer

Jessica Gerlach General Manager


Board of Directors

Reshaad Ali President

Jack Vickery Vice President

Anna Dueck Secretary

Faiza Hakim Treasurer



Caitlin Mckee Director at Large

Donna Spencer (ex-officio)